Riley McGree's A-League goal nominated for prestigious Puskas Award

Riley McGree's A-League goal nominated for prestigious Puskas Award

In a ceremony in London witnessed by such FIFA legends as Nigeria's Nwankwo Kanu, Sol Campbell, Kelly Smith, and Peter Schmeichel, the nominees were recognised for their achievements in elite football between July 2017 and July 2018 - a period that saw the 2018 FIFA World Cup take place in Russian Federation.

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah is on the shortlist for FIFA's Best Men's Player of 2018 alongside Luka Modric and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Lionel Messi has admitted he was surprised by Cristiano Ronaldo's decision to leave Real Madrid and join Juventus.

Federation Internationale de Football Association released the list of the final three candidates for the Best Player of 2018 award on Monday and it certainly would have brought joy to the hearts of Ronaldo fans as the Portuguese worldwide is one of the three stars to make it to the list.

More news: Amazon Hits $1 Trillion

Ronaldo is the favourite to win the award for a third consecutive year at the ceremony on 24 August in London.

Interestingly Modric will again face competition from the duo of Ronaldo and Salah just like he did in the UEFA award.

The Best Men's Player will not be won by the Argentine star this year, despite a magnificent season for the Catalan giants.

Lionel Messi also makes the cut for his strike for Argentina against Nigeria, while Portugal winger Ricardo Quaresma rounds out the Russian Federation 2018 nominees with his goal against Iran.

More news: Sen. John Kyl to be named John McCain's replacement

Salah enjoyed a dream debut season for Liverpool after his transfer from Italian side AS Roma, scoring 44 times and clinching the English Premier League Golden Boot award with 34 League goals.

Lyon's Norwegian striker Ada Hegerberg and German midfielder Dzsenifer Marozsan are joined by Brazilian five-time victor Marta in the running for the best women's player after winning the Champions League with the French giants.

France's World Cup winning squad players also missed out on a place in the top three finalists.

The three coaches in contention for the women's game award are: Asako Takakura, who led Japan to the Asian Games title last week, Reynald Pedros of France and Sarina Wiegman of the Netherlands.

More news: Pentagon Cancels $300 Million in Aid to Pakistan

France's World Cup-winning captain Hugo Lloris is in contention for the goalkeeper of the year award, alongside Golden Glove victor Thibaut Courtois and Danish shot-stopper Kasper Schmeichel.

Related Articles